In Connecticut, possessing a tiny quantity of marijuana is not as bad as it is in other states. You are likely to be fined and required to go through a drug education or treatment program if you are caught with a small amount. However, If you have intent to sell, you may be facing serious charges that can result in imprisonment.
If you or your loved one has been arrested, consulting with reputable experts for bail for marijuana in CT is the go-to course of action. In the following article, we’ll take a closer look at the penalties surrounding marijuana. Read on!
What are the penalties for marijuana crimes?
Possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana in Connecticut is still a misdemeanor, despite recent changes by the courts and prosecutors. Even if you have a medical marijuana card, however, it is against the law to possess marijuana unless your state has legalized its use. In Connecticut, possession of less than one-quarter ounce is no longer a crime, but it remains an infraction under the criminal code.
The penalties for this charge can include jail time and hefty fines. If you are caught selling marijuana, you will face additional severe penalties. Under federal law, having any amount of marijuana is still prohibited, so if you are discovered by federal authorities with marijuana, you may be subject to considerably heavier penalties.
Here are the state’s marijuana-related fines and penalties:
Possession of less than ½ oz. of marijuana
- $150 fine for the first offense
- Subsequent offenses: $200 to $500 penalty (third-time offenders must attend drug education at their own expense)
- Anyone under age 21 who is convicted of a violation gets a 60-day driver’s license or nonresident operating privilege suspension
Possession of ½ oz. or more of marijuana
- The crime of unlawful possession of a controlled substance is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, which may result in imprisonment for up to one year, a fine of up to $2,000, or both
- Subsequent offenses are treated differently: the court may find someone to be a persistent offender for controlled substance possession, which is punishable by a class E felony prison sentence (i.e., up to three years)
Sale and possession with intent to sell
- Up to 7 years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine for the first offense
- Up to 15 years in prison and a maximum $100,000 fine for subsequent offenses
Sale and possession with intent to sell at least 1 kg. of marijuana
- For a first offense, the law requires a minimum of a five to 20-year prison term
- Subsequent offenses: 10- to 25-year sentence mandatory minimum
- If a person is under age 18 or has significantly diminished mental capacity at the time of the crime, the mandatory minimum may be suspended
Sale within 1,500 feet of an elementary, a licensed daycare center, or a public housing project
- A three-year prison term is required to be served consecutively to the prison sentence imposed for the underlying crime.
Who can I trust with bail for marijuana in CT?
If you’ve been arrested on marijuana-related charges, BailCo Bail Bonds can help you get out of jail and back to your life. We understand that good people can make mistakes, and we’re here to help you through this difficult time. We have years of experience helping people in Stamford and statewide, and we exactly what to do to help you get released from custody.