Marijuana use is common in Connecticut. About 15% of adults in the state had used marijuana in the past year. This is higher than the national average of 12%. In 2018 alone, there were over 18,000 arrests for marijuana-related offenses. These made up 16% of all drug arrests in the state that year.
If you’re like most people, you’re probably terrified of the prospect of being arrested for drug possession. Nobody wants to pay fines, serve time in jail, or have their name associated with a convicted offender with a permanent record. In the following article, experts in marijuana bail bonds in CT will walk you through how the law has changed over the years. Read on!
What is the history of the state marijuana laws?
The first recorded law against marijuana was in 1763, when the General Assembly made it illegal to grow hemp without a license. However, there is no record of anyone actually being arrested or punished under this law.
In 1911, the state legislature passed a law making possession of marijuana a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. In 1915, the state legislature made it a felony to sell, transport, or import marijuana into Connecticut. In 1931, the state legislature raised the maximum penalty for possession of marijuana to five years in jail and/or a fine of $2,000.
In 1935, the state legislature increased the maximum penalty for the sale or transport of marijuana to ten years in jail and/or a fine of $5,000.
Since then, there have been a number of changes to the laws governing marijuana in Connecticut. In 1973, the state legislature decriminalized possession of small amounts of marijuana, making it a civil offense punishable by a fine of up to $100. In 1979, the state legislature repealed the decriminalization law and made possession of any amount of marijuana a criminal offense again. In 1981, the state legislature increased the maximum penalty for possession of marijuana to one year in jail and/or a fine of $1,000. In 1989, the state legislature increased the maximum penalty for selling or transporting of marijuana to five years in jail and/or a fine of $5,000.
In 2012, the state legislature passed a law decriminalizing possession of small amounts of marijuana. Under this law, possession of less than one ounce of marijuana is a civil offense punishable by a fine of up to $150. Possession of more than one ounce but less than four ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of more than four ounces of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to five years in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
In 2021, Connecticut became the fifteenth state to legalize recreational marijuana. As a result, adults in Connecticut may now use and possess small amounts of recreational marijuana, making it lawful.
Need assistance with marijuana bail bonds in CT? We’ve got you covered!
If you or a loved one is arrested for marijuana, the experience can be extremely stressful. Not only do you have to deal with the possibility of facing criminal charges, but you also have to contend with the stress of being in jail. Thankfully, our bail bond agents at BailCo in Hartford County and across CT can help you through this difficult time. We will work with you to get your loved one released as quickly as possible so that you can focus on preparing for their defense. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you.